

Impacting Reproductive Care Worldwide

October 8, 2020

To Members of the AMA YPS,

The American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) enthusiastically supports Albert Hsu, M.D., for the position of Chair-Elect of AMA's Young Physicians Section.

Dr. Hsu has been a member of ASRM since 2016 and has served as ASRM's youngest ever AMA delegate since 2019. Dr. Hsu was selected to represent our Specialty Society largely due to his extensive understanding of AMA history and policy, and most importantly, his passion and commitment to the betterment of the field and practice of medicine. Over his years as an AMA member, Dr. Hsu has shown his fervor for the democratic process by helping to author several resolutions, one of which influenced the AMA's position on recognizing infertility as a disease.

On a personal note, I first met Dr. Hsu when, during his fellowship, he led the organizing of physicians to fight a dangerous and anti-scientific "personhood" bill in Virginia. Despite his youth and lack of ties in the state, he was able to drive a successful effort against the legislation. I have been staffing the ASRM AMA delegation for over 20 years and can confidently say that Dr. Hsu is one of the best delegates I have had the pleasure of working with. I'd add that he even reminds me of one of ASRM's former delegates, Dr. Robert Wah, who went on to become AMA President in 2014.

Catherine Racowsky, Ph.D. President

Hugh Taylor, M.D. President-Elect

Officers

Marcelle Cedars, M.D. Vice President

Peter Schlegel, M.D. Immediate Past President

Christos Coutifaris, M.D., Ph.D. Past President

Michael Thomas, M.D. Secretary

James Toner, M.D., Ph.D. Treasurer

## Administration

Ricardo Azziz, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A. Chief Executive Officer

Sean Tipton, M.A. Chief Advocacy, Policy and Development Officer

Dan Carre, C.P.A. Chief Financial Officer

Vickie Gamble, M.P.P.M. Chief Operations Officer

Chevis N. Shannon, DrPH, M.B.A. Education and Science Officer



Impacting Reproductive Care Worldwide

Officers Catherine Racowsky, Ph.D. President

Hugh Taylor, M.D. President-Elect

Marcelle Cedars, M.D. Vice President

Peter Schlegel, M.D. Immediate Past President

Christos Coutifaris, M.D., Ph.D. Past President

Michael Thomas, M.D. Secretary

James Toner, M.D., Ph.D. Treasurer

Administration Ricardo Azziz, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A. Chief Executive Officer

Sean Tipton, M.A. Chief Advocacy, Policy and Development Officer

Dan Carre, C.P.A. Chief Financial Officer

Vickie Gamble, M.P.P.M. Chief Operations Officer

Chevis N. Shannon, DrPH, M.B.A. Education and Science Officer ASRM strongly urges you to consider Dr. Hsu for this leadership role in the American Medical Association's Young Physician Section.

Sincerely,

Sen the

Sean Tipton Chief Advocacy, Policy and Development Officer American Society for Reproductive Medicine